e99 Store Help
Store Home  Browse:   Books ... Reference


Image Size:   Small  Medium  
  • Almanacs & Yearbooks
  • Atlases & Maps
  • Business Skills
  • Audiobooks
  • Catalogs & Directories
  • Calendars
  • Careers
  • Consumer Guides
  • Dictionaries & Thesauruses
  • Education
  • Encyclopedias
  • Etiquette
  • Foreign Languages
  • Fun Facts
  • Genealogy
  • General
  • Publishing & Books
  • Large Print
  • Law
  • Quotations
  • Study Guides
  • Spanish-Language Reference
  • Test Prep Central
  • Words & Language
  • Writing
  • 1-10 of 3198708 Results       Next
    $7.05 (53% off)
    The Shack
    $7.99 (56% off)
    The Wonderful Things
    $11.74 (57% off)
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    $8.31 (54% off)
    The Giving Tree
    $15.40 (43% off)
    The Magnolia Story
    $47.92 (28% off)
    Saunders Comprehensive
    $22.81 (31% off)
    The Official ACT Prep
    $7.75 (52% off)
    Thinking, Fast and Slow
    $16.09 (36% off)
    The Official SAT Study
    $8.09
    The Very Hungry Caterpillar


    1. The Shack: Where Tragedy Confronts Eternity
    by William P. Young
    List Price:
    Price:
    You Save:
    US$15.00
    US$7.05
    US$7.95 (53%)
    Category: Paperback Brand: FaithWords/Hachette Book Group
    (2007-07-01)
    Publisher: Windblown Media
    ISBN: 0964729237
    Sales Rank: 3
    Lowest New Price: $7.05
    Lowest Used Price: $2.04 (62 Used Items)
    Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

    Product Description

    Mackenzie Allen Philips' youngest daughter, Missy, has been abducted during a family vacation and evidence that she may have been brutally murdered is found in an abandoned shack deep in the Oregon wilderness. Four years later in the midst of his Great Sadness, Mack receives a suspicious note, apparently from God, inviting him back to that shack for a weekend. Against his better judgment he arrives at the shack on a wintry afternoon and walks back into his darkest nightmare. What he finds there will change Mack's world forever.

    In a world where religion seems to grow increasingly irrelevant The Shack wrestles with the timeless question, "Where is God in a world so filled with unspeakable pain?" The answers Mack gets will astound you and perhaps transform you as much as it did him. You'll want everyone you know to read this book!

    ... Read more

    Features:

    • Great product!

    Similar Items:
    1. The Shack Study Guide: Healing for Your Journey Through Loss, Trauma, and Pain
    2. The Shack Revisited: There Is More Going On Here than You Ever Dared to Dream
    3. The Shack: Reflections for Every Day of the Year
    4. Eve: A Novel
    5. Cross Roads
    6. Lies We Believe About God
    7. A Dog's Purpose: A Novel for Humans
    8. God, the Bible and the Shack (Ivp Booklets)
    9. A Man Called Ove: A Novel
    10. Hidden Figures: The American Dream and the Untold Story of the Black Women Mathematicians Who Helped Win the Space Race .

    2. The Wonderful Things You Will Be
    by Emily Winfield Martin
    List Price:
    Price:
    You Save:
    US$17.99
    US$7.99
    US$10 (56%)
    Category: Hardcover Brand: Random House Books for Young Readers
    (2015-08-25)
    Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
    ISBN: 0385376715
    Sales Rank: 13
    Lowest New Price: $6.95
    Lowest Used Price: $3.69 (37 Used Items)
    Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

    Product Description

    The New York Times bestseller that celebrates the dreams, acceptance, and love that parents have for their children . . . now and forever!
     
    From brave and bold to creative and clever, Emily Winfield Martin's rhythmic rhyme expresses all the loving things that parents think of when they look at their children. With beautiful, and sometimes humorous, illustrations, and a clever gatefold with kids in costumes, this is a book grown-ups will love reading over and over to kids—both young and old. A great gift for any occasion, but a special stand-out for baby showers, birthdays, and graduation. The Wonderful Things You Will Be has a loving and truthful message that will endure for lifetimes.

    ... Read more

    Features:

    • Random House Books for Young Readers

    Similar Items:
    1. Giraffes Can't Dance
    2. I Wish You More
    3. If Animals Kissed Good Night
    4. The Going-To-Bed Book
    5. Goodnight, Numbers
    6. The Day the Crayons Quit
    7. The Giving Tree
    8. The Pout-Pout Fish
    9. That's Me Loving You
    10. Dear Zoo: A Lift-the-Flap Book .


    3. A Gentleman in Moscow: A Novel
    by Amor Towles
    List Price:
    Price:
    You Save:
    US$27.00
    US$11.74
    US$15.26 (57%)
    Category: Hardcover Brand: Random House Books for Young Readers
    (2016-09-06)
    Publisher: Viking
    ISBN: 0670026190
    Sales Rank: 26
    Lowest New Price: $9.44
    Lowest Used Price: $7.44 (29 Used Items)
    Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

    Product Description

    A New York Times bestseller

    Chosen as a best book of the year by NPR, The Washington Post, The Chicago Tribune, The San Francisco Chronicle, and The Philadelphia Inquirer

    “The same gorgeous, layered richness that marked Towles’ debut, Rules of Civility, shapes [A Gentleman in Moscow]” –Entertainment Weekly

    “’The Grand Budapest Hotel’ and ‘Eloise’ meets all the Bond villains.” –TheSkimm 

    “Irresistible. . .[an] elegant period piece. . .as lavishly filigreed as a Faberge egg.”
     –O, the Oprah Magazine

     
    He can’t leave his hotel. You won’t want to.
     
    From the New York Times bestselling author of Rules of Civility—a transporting novel about a man who is ordered to spend the rest of his life inside a luxury hotel 

    In 1922, Count Alexander Rostov is deemed an unrepentant aristocrat by a Bolshevik tribunal, and is sentenced to house arrest in the Metropol, a grand hotel across the street from the Kremlin. Rostov, an indomitable man of erudition and wit, has never worked a day in his life, and must now live in an attic room while some of the most tumultuous decades in Russian history are unfolding outside the hotel’s doors. Unexpectedly, his reduced circumstances provide him entry into a much larger world of emotional discovery.

    Brimming with humor, a glittering cast of characters, and one beautifully rendered scene after another, this singular novel casts a spell as it relates the count’s endeavor to gain a deeper understanding of what it means to be a man of purpose.

    “And the intrigue! … [A Gentleman in Moscow] is laced with sparkling threads (they will tie up) and tokens (they will matter): special keys, secret compartments, gold coins, vials of coveted liquid, old-fashioned pistols, duels and scars, hidden assignations (discreet and smoky), stolen passports, a ruby necklace, mysterious letters on elegant hotel stationery… a luscious stage set, backdrop for a downright Casablanca-like drama.” –The San Francisco Chronicle

    Amazon.com Review

    An Amazon Best Book of September 2016: A Gentleman in Moscow is the utterly entertaining second novel from the author of Rules of Civility. Amor Towles skillfully transports us to The Metropol, the famed Moscow hotel where movie stars and Russian royalty hobnob, where Bolsheviks plot revolutions and intellectuals discuss the merits of contemporary Russian writers, where spies spy, thieves thieve and the danger of twentieth century Russia lurks outside its marbled walls. It’s also where wealthy Count Alexander Rostov lives under house arrest for a poem deemed incendiary by the Bolsheviks, and meets Nina. Nina is a precocious and wide-eyed young girl who holds the keys to the entire hotel, wonders what it means to be a princess, and will irrevocably change his life. Despite being confined to the hallway of the hotel, the Count lives an absorbing, adventure-filled existence, filled with capers, conspiracies and culture. Alexander Rostov is a character for the ages--like Kay Thompson’s Eloise and Wes Anderson’s M. Gustav, he is unflinchingly (and hilariously for readers) devoted to his station, even when forced to wait tables, play hide and seek with a young girl, or confront communism. Towles magnificently conjures the grandeur of the Russian hotel and the vibrancy of the characters that call it home. --Al Woodworth, The Amazon Book Review

    ... Read more

    Similar Items:
    1. Rules of Civility: A Novel
    2. Lilac Girls: A Novel
    3. News of the World: A Novel
    4. Lincoln in the Bardo: A Novel
    5. Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis
    6. A Man Called Ove: A Novel
    7. The Underground Railroad (National Book Award Winner) (Oprah's Book Club): A Novel
    8. The Last Painting of Sara de Vos: A Novel
    9. A Piece of the World: A Novel
    10. The Last Painting of Sara de Vos: A Novel .


    4. The Giving Tree
    by Shel Silverstein
    List Price:
    Price:
    You Save:
    US$17.99
    US$8.31
    US$9.68 (54%)
    Category: Hardcover Brand: Harper & Row
    Department: unisex-child
    (1964)
    Publisher: Harper & Row
    ISBN: 0060256656
    Sales Rank: 37
    Lowest New Price: $6.97
    Lowest Used Price: $1.95 (235 Used Items)
    Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

    Product Description

    'Once there was a tree...and she loved a little boy.'

    So begins a story of unforgettable perception, beautifully written and illustrated by the gifted and versatile Shel Silverstein.

    Every day the boy would come to the tree to eat her apples, swing from her branches, or slide down her trunk...and the tree was happy. But as the boy grew older he began to want more from the tree, and the tree gave and gave and gave.

    This is a tender story, touched with sadness, aglow with consolation. Shel Silverstein has created a moving parable for readers of all ages that offers an affecting interpretation of the gift of giving and a serene acceptance of another's capacity to love in return.

    Amazon.com Review

    To say that this particular apple tree is a "giving tree" is an understatement. In Shel Silverstein's popular tale of few words and simple line drawings, a tree starts out as a leafy playground, shade provider, and apple bearer for a rambunctious little boy. Making the boy happy makes the tree happy, but with time it becomes more challenging for the generous tree to meet his needs. When he asks for money, she suggests that he sell her apples. When he asks for a house, she offers her branches for lumber. When the boy is old, too old and sad to play in the tree, he asks the tree for a boat. She suggests that he cut her down to a stump so he can craft a boat out of her trunk. He unthinkingly does it. At this point in the story, the double-page spread shows a pathetic solitary stump, poignantly cut down to the heart the boy once carved into the tree as a child that said "M.E. + T." "And then the tree was happy... but not really." When there's nothing left of her, the boy returns again as an old man, needing a quiet place to sit and rest. The stump offers up her services, and he sits on it. "And the tree was happy." While the message of this book is unclear (Take and take and take? Give and give and give? Complete self-sacrifice is good? Complete self-sacrifice is infinitely sad?), Silverstein has perhaps deliberately left the book open to interpretation. (All ages) --Karin Snelson

    ... Read more

    Features:

    • The Giving Tree - Children's Book, Hardcover

    Similar Items:
    1. Where the Sidewalk Ends: Poems and Drawings
    2. Where the Sidewalk Ends: Poems and Drawings
    3. Where the Wild Things Are
    4. A Light in the Attic Special Edition
    5. The Wonderful Things You Will Be
    6. The Very Hungry Caterpillar
    7. Goodnight Moon
    8. The Missing Piece
    9. Where the Wild Things Are
    10. Falling Up .


    5. The Magnolia Story
    by Chip Gaines, Joanna Gaines, Mark Dagostino
    List Price:
    Price:
    You Save:
    US$26.99
    US$15.40
    US$11.59 (43%)
    Category: Hardcover Brand: HarperCollins Christian Pub.
    Department: unisex-child
    (2016-10-18)
    Publisher: Thomas Nelson
    ISBN: 0718079183
    Sales Rank: 85
    Lowest New Price: $11.85
    Lowest Used Price: $11.33 (56 Used Items)
    Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

    Product Description

    Are you ready to see your fixer upper?

    These famous words are now synonymous with the dynamic husband-and-wife team Chip and Joanna Gaines, stars of HGTV’s Fixer Upper. As this question fills the airwaves with anticipation, their legions of fans continue to multiply and ask a different series of questions, like—Who are these people?What’s the secret to their success? And is Chip actually that funny in real life? By renovating homes in Waco, Texas, and changing lives in such a winsome and engaging way, Chip and Joanna have become more than just the stars of Fixer Upper, they have become America’s new best friends.

    The Magnolia Story is the first book from Chip and Joanna, offering their fans a detailed look at their life together. From the very first renovation project they ever tackled together, to the project that nearly cost them everything; from the childhood memories that shaped them, to the twists and turns that led them to the life they share on the farm today.

    They both attended Baylor University in Waco. However, their paths did not cross until Chip checked his car into the local Firestone tire shop where Joanna worked behind the counter. Even back then Chip was a serial entrepreneur who, among other things, ran a lawn care company, sold fireworks, and flipped houses. Soon they were married and living in their first fixer upper. Four children and countless renovations later, Joanna garners the attention of a television producer who notices her work on a blog one day.

    In The Magnolia Story fans will finally get to join the Gaines behind the scenes and discover:

    • The time Chip ran to the grocery store and forgot to take their new, sleeping baby
    • Joanna’s agonizing decision to close her dream business to focus on raising their children
    • When Chip buys a houseboat, sight-unseen, and it turns out to be a leaky wreck
    • Joanna’s breakthrough moment of discovering the secret to creating a beautiful home
    • Harrowing stories of the financial ups and downs as an entrepreneurial couple
    • Memories and photos from Chip and Jo’s wedding
    • The significance of the word magnolia and why it permeates everything they do
    • The way the couple pays the popularity of Fixer Upper forward, sharing the success with others, and bolstering the city of Waco along the way

    And yet there is still one lingering question for fans of the show: Is Chip really that funny? “Oh yeah,” says Joanna. “He was, and still is, my first fixer upper.”

    ... Read more

    Features:

    • memoir of couple who made TV series Fixer Upper a big hit

    Similar Items:
    1. A Touch of Farmhouse Charm: Easy DIY Projects to Add a Warm and Rustic Feel to Any Room
    2. The Magnolia Journal (1-year auto-renewal)
    3. This Life I Live: One Man's Extraordinary, Ordinary Life and the Woman Who Changed It Forever
    4. The Magnolia Story: How Chip Gaines and Joanna Gaines Created the Fixer Upper Empire
    5. Shaken: Discovering Your True Identity in the Midst of Life's Storms
    6. Better Homes and Gardens Flea Market Style: Fresh Ideas for Your Vintage Finds
    7. Better Than New: Lessons I've Learned from Saving Old Homes (and How They Saved Me)
    8. Fixer Upper Season 1
    9. Talking as Fast as I Can: From Gilmore Girls to Gilmore Girls (and Everything in Between)
    10. Josiah's Fire: Autism Stole His Words, God Gave Him a Voice .


    6. Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination, 7e (Saunders Comprehensive Review for Nclex-Rn)
    by Linda Anne Silvestri PhD RN
    List Price:
    Price:
    You Save:
    US$66.95Saunders1115215011304458801BookABIS_BOOK2016-10-14SaundersSaundersSaunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination, 7e (Saunders Comprehensive Review for Nclex-Rn)3202USD$32.02
    US$47.92
    US$19.03 (28%)
    Category: Paperback Brand: HarperCollins Christian Pub.
    Department: unisex-child
    (2016-10-14)
    Publisher: Saunders
    ISBN: 0323358519
    Sales Rank: 276
    Lowest New Price: $45.00
    Lowest Used Price: $45.56 (21 Used Items)
    Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

    Product Description

    Often called the ‘the best NCLEX® exam review book ever,’ Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination, 7th Edition provides everything you need to prepare for the NCLEX exam ― complete content review and 5,200 NCLEX examination-style questions in the book and online. Don't make the mistake of assuming the quality of the questions is the same in all NCLEX exam review books, because only this book includes the kind of questions that consistently test the critical thinking skills necessary to pass today's NCLEX exam. Even better, all answers include detailed rationales to help you learn from your answer choices, as well as test-taking strategies with tips on how to best approach each question. Written by the most trusted name in NCLEX review, Linda Anne Silvestri, and updated to reflect the most current 2016 NCLEX test plan, Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination, 7th Edition is THE book of choice for NCLEX examination review. But don’t just take our word for it ― read any customer review or ask your classmates to see why there's nothing else like it!

    • Over 5,100 practice questions in the text and online offer ample testing practice. 
    • Question categories by cognitive level, client needs area, integrated process, and content area give users completely customizable exams or study sessions when using the companion Evolve site.
    • UNIQUE! A detailed test-taking strategy and rationale is included for each question, offering clues for analyzing and uncovering the correct answer option, and guiding users to remediation in Saunders Strategies for Test Success: Passing Nursing School and the NCLEX® Exam and Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Exam.
    • Inclusion of all alternate item format questions covers multiple response, prioritizing [ordered response], fill-in-the-blank, figure/illustration [hot spot], chart/exhibit, video, and audio questions to give users practice with mastering prioritizing, decision-making, and critical thinking skills.
    • Alternate item format questions are highlighted with a special icon to easily find in the text.
    • 85-question comprehensive exam covers all content areas in the book in the same percentages that they are covered on the actual NCLEX-RN test plan.
    • UNIQUE! Priority Nursing Action boxes list actions for clinical emergent situations requiring immediate action, including a detailed rationale and textbook reference.
    • UNIQUE! Pyramid Alert! boxes spotlight important nursing concepts and procedures, and include tips and shortcuts for remembering key information. 
    • UNIQUE! Priority concepts call-outs highlight specific concepts related to nursing practice. Concepts have been updated to reflect the latest Giddens: Concepts for Nursing Practice text.
    • Page references for each question guide users toward an Elsevier nursing textbook for further study and self-remediation.
    • Full-color design offers a more visually engaging learning experience.
    • Easy-to-use index lets users quickly locate questions for a given topic or body system.
    • Recent graduate’s perspective sections offer meaningful guidance for the NCLEX-RN, nonacademic preparation, test-taking strategies, and the CAT format.
    • Expanded coverage of delegation, prioritization, and triage/disaster management in the practice questions reflect the areas of increased emphasis on the NCLEX exam.
    • Automatic software updates on the Evolve companion site allow users to check for changes and content updates throughout the life of the edition.
    • UNIQUE! Audio review summaries on pharmacology, fluids and electrolytes, and acid-base balance are found on the Evolve companion site.
    • NEW! Questions and content aligned with the latest NCLEX-RN exam reflect the increased level of difficulty and format changes in some areas. 
    • NEW! Summary of the key changes made to the 2016 NCLEX-RN test plan will be included at the beginning of the text along with how those updates are addressed throughout the new edition.
    • NEW! Mnemonics will be included as Pyramid Alerts where appropriate throughout the text.
    • NEW! More Priority Nursing Action boxes to communicate new and pertinent content. 
    • NEW! Revised illustrations provide a more up-to-date and consistent presentation of art throughout the text. 
    • NEW! Completely updated chapter on vital signs and laboratory values include the latest lab values.
    • NEW! Glossary of the Pyramid Terms located in the back of the book help users access all definitions in one location.

    ... Read more

    Similar Items:
    1. NCLEX-RN Premier 2017 with 2 Practice Tests: Online + Book + Video Tutorials + Mobile (Kaplan Test Prep)
    2. Prioritization, Delegation, and Assignment: Practice Exercises for the NCLEX Examination, 3e
    3. Lippincott Q&A Review for NCLEX-RN (Lippioncott's Review for Nclex-Rn)
    4. NCLEX-RN Drug Guide: 300 Medications You Need to Know for the Exam (Kaplan Test Prep)
    5. HESI Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN Examination, 5e
    6. Saunders 2016-2017 Strategies for Test Success: Passing Nursing School and the NCLEX Exam, 4e (Saunders Strategies for Success for the Nclex Examination)
    7. Saunders Q & A Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination, 6e
    8. NCLEX-RN Questions & Answers Made Incredibly Easy (Incredibly Easy! Series®)
    9. Nclex-Rn Study Guide (Quick Study Academic)
    10. NCLEX-RN 2017 Strategies, Practice and Review with Practice Test (Kaplan Test Prep) .


    7. The Official ACT Prep Guide, 2016 - 2017
    by ACT
    List Price:
    Price:
    You Save:
    US$32.95
    US$22.81
    US$10.14 (31%)
    Category: Paperback Brand: imusti
    Department: unisex-child
    (2016-05-31)
    Publisher: Wiley
    ISBN: 1119225418
    Sales Rank: 209
    Lowest New Price: $17.72
    Lowest Used Price: $14.44 (38 Used Items)
    Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

    Product Description

    Everything you need to know about the 2016-2017 ACT test, with real full-length practice tests from the makers of the ACT!

    The Official ACT Prep Guide 2016-2017 is the bestselling resource for students gearing up for the ACT test. This comprehensive guide walks you through the entire test experience, from registration through results, with expert advice straight from the test's creators. You'll find effective test-taking strategies, tips for boosting your score on the English, math, reading, and science tests, and detailed information on the enhanced optional writing test. Three new full-length practice tests help you assess your readiness so you can spot weak areas well in advance, and the ACT experts provide valuable advice on preparing both mentally and physically so you can manage anxiety and be fully confident on test day. You also get free online bonus content to help you start college on the right foot, including tips for preparing an application that gets noticed, getting into your first-choice school, being a successful student, and much more.

    The 2016-2017 version of the ACT guide includes a number of changes, including reading test sections with two shorter prose passages and the enhanced writing test's prompts. This guide provides a preview of what to expect for the entire exam, so you can go into the test feeling fully prepared and ready to excel.

    • Get insider tips and strategies from the exam's creators
    • Improve your score in all five content areas, including the optional writing test
    • Practice with full-length test forms taken from the actual ACT
    • Gear up for college with bonus online advice for a successful first year

    The ACT is different from other standardized tests. It tests your accumulated skills and knowledge, so sheer memorization and vocabulary lists are unproductive prep strategies. For preparation strategies that actually make a difference in your score—and beyond—go straight to the source with The Official ACT Prep Guide 2016-2017.

    ... Read more

    Features:

    • Wiley

    Similar Items:
    1. ACT Prep Black Book: The Most Effective ACT Strategies Ever Published
    2. Cracking the ACT with 6 Practice Tests, 2017 Edition: The Techniques, Practice, and Review You Need to Score Higher (College Test Preparation)
    3. The Official SAT Study Guide, 2016 Edition
    4. Barron's ACT Flash Cards, 2nd Edition: 410 Flash Cards to Help You Achieve a Higher Score
    5. Ultimate Guide to the Math ACT
    6. Barron's ACT, 2nd Edition (Barron's Act (Book Only))
    7. ACT 2016-2017 Strategies, Practice, and Review with 6 Practice Tests: Online + Book (Kaplan Test Prep)
    8. The Complete Guide to ACT English, 2nd Edition
    9. Barron's ACT 36, 3rd Edition: Aiming for the Perfect Score
    10. ACT Prep Book 2017: ACT Test Prep Study Guide and Practice Questions .


    8. Thinking, Fast and Slow
    by Daniel Kahneman
    List Price:
    Price:
    You Save:
    US$16.00
    US$7.75
    US$8.25 (52%)
    Category: Paperback Brand: Farrar Straus Giroux
    Department: unisex-child
    (2013-04-02)
    Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
    ISBN: 0374533555
    Sales Rank: 54
    Lowest New Price: $7.25
    Lowest Used Price: $3.75 (181 Used Items)
    Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

    Product Description

    Major New York Times bestseller
    Winner of the National Academy of Sciences Best Book Award in 2012
    Selected by the New York Times Book Review as one of the ten best books of 2011
    A Globe and Mail Best Books of the Year 2011 Title
    One of The Economist's 2011 Books of the Year
    One of The Wall Street Journal's Best Nonfiction Books of the Year 2011
    2013 Presidential Medal of Freedom Recipient
    Kahneman's work with Amos Tversky is the subject of Michael Lewis's The Undoing Project: A Friendship That Changed Our Minds

    In the international bestseller, Thinking, Fast and Slow, Daniel Kahneman, the renowned psychologist and winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics, takes us on a groundbreaking tour of the mind and explains the two systems that drive the way we think. System 1 is fast, intuitive, and emotional; System 2 is slower, more deliberative, and more logical. The impact of overconfidence on corporate strategies, the difficulties of predicting what will make us happy in the future, the profound effect of cognitive biases on everything from playing the stock market to planning our next vacation―each of these can be understood only by knowing how the two systems shape our judgments and decisions.

    Engaging the reader in a lively conversation about how we think, Kahneman reveals where we can and cannot trust our intuitions and how we can tap into the benefits of slow thinking. He offers practical and enlightening insights into how choices are made in both our business and our personal lives―and how we can use different techniques to guard against the mental glitches that often get us into trouble. Winner of the National Academy of Sciences Best Book Award and the Los Angeles Times Book Prize and selected by The New York Times Book Review as one of the ten best books of 2011, Thinking, Fast and Slow is destined to be a classic.

    Amazon.com Review

    Amazon Best Books of the Month, November 2011: Drawing on decades of research in psychology that resulted in a Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences, Daniel Kahneman takes readers on an exploration of what influences thought example by example, sometimes with unlikely word pairs like "vomit and banana." System 1 and System 2, the fast and slow types of thinking, become characters that illustrate the psychology behind things we think we understand but really don't, such as intuition. Kahneman's transparent and careful treatment of his subject has the potential to change how we think, not just about thinking, but about how we live our lives. Thinking, Fast and Slow gives deep--and sometimes frightening--insight about what goes on inside our heads: the psychological basis for reactions, judgments, recognition, choices, conclusions, and much more.  --JoVon Sotak

    ... Read more

    Features:

    • Farrar Straus Giroux

    Similar Items:
    1. The Power of Habit: Why We Do What We Do in Life and Business
    2. Nudge: Improving Decisions About Health, Wealth, and Happiness
    3. The Undoing Project: A Friendship That Changed Our Minds
    4. Predictably Irrational, Revised and Expanded Edition: The Hidden Forces That Shape Our Decisions
    5. Getting to Yes: Negotiating Agreement Without Giving In
    6. Algorithms to Live By: The Computer Science of Human Decisions
    7. Misbehaving: The Making of Behavioral Economics
    8. Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion, Revised Edition
    9. Smarter Faster Better: The Transformative Power of Real Productivity
    10. Moonwalking with Einstein: The Art and Science of Remembering Everything .


    9. The Official SAT Study Guide, 2016 Edition
    by The College Board
    List Price:
    Price:
    You Save:
    US$24.99
    US$16.09
    US$8.9 (36%)
    Category: Paperback Brand: Farrar Straus Giroux
    Department: unisex-child
    (2015-06-30)
    Publisher: College Board
    ISBN: 1457304309
    Sales Rank: 147
    Lowest New Price: $12.05
    Lowest Used Price: $14.00 (19 Used Items)
    Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

    Product Description

    The Official SAT Study Guide includes 4 official SAT® practice tests created by the test maker. As part of the College Board’s commitment to transparency, all four practice tests are available on the College Board’s website, but The Official SAT Study Guide is the only place to find them in print along with over 300 pages of additional instruction, guidance, and test information. Launching in March 2016, the new SAT introduces new question formats and content. Be ready with strategies and up-to-date information straight from the team that created the exam. Students will gain valuable experience and raise their confidence by taking practice tests, learning about test structure, and gaining a deeper understanding of what is tested on the SAT. The Official SAT Study Guide will help students get ready for the SAT with:

    • 4 official SAT practice tests, written in the exact same process and by the same team of authors as the actual exam
    • detailed descriptions of the math and evidenced based reading and writing sections of the SAT
    • targeted practice questions for each SAT question type
    • guidance on the new optional essay, including practice essay questions with sample responses
    • a review of math concepts tested in the exam
    • test-taking approaches and suggestions that underscore important points
    • seamless integration with Khan Academy's free SAT practice resources
    • scaled scoring for all 4 official SAT practice tests available in July on collegeboard.org

    There's also a complete chapter on the new PSAT/NMSQT®, which is aligned to the content and scores of the new SAT. The new PSAT/NMSQT also has over $180 million of scholarships connected to student performance.

    This is the guide for the new SAT that launches in March 2016 and the new PSAT/NMQST that launches in October 2015.

    ... Read more

    Similar Items:
    1. The Official ACT Prep Guide, 2016 - 2017
    2. 6 Practice Tests for the SAT, 2017 Edition (College Test Preparation)
    3. Cracking the SAT Premium Edition with 6 Practice Tests, 2017: The All-in-One Solution for Your Highest Possible Score (College Test Preparation)
    4. Cracking the ACT with 6 Practice Tests, 2017 Edition: The Techniques, Practice, and Review You Need to Score Higher (College Test Preparation)
    5. Barron's NEW SAT Flash Cards, 3rd Edition: 500 Flash Cards to Help You Achieve a Higher Score
    6. The Official SAT Study Guide, 2018 Edition (Official Study Guide for the New Sat)
    7. Ivy Global's New SAT Guide, 2nd Edition
    8. 8 Practice Tests for the SAT 2017: 1,200+ SAT Practice Questions (Kaplan Test Prep)
    9. SAT Premier 2017 with 5 Practice Tests: Online + Book (Kaplan Test Prep)
    10. Kaplan Math Workbook for the New SAT (Kaplan Test Prep) .


    10. The Very Hungry Caterpillar
    by Eric Carle
    Price:
    US$8.09
    Category: Board book Brand: Ingram Book & Distributor
    Department: unisex-child
    (2012-07-20)
    Publisher: National Geographic School Pub
    ISBN: 0399226907
    Sales Rank: 55
    Lowest New Price: $5.26
    Lowest Used Price: $0.25 (252 Used Items)
    Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

    Product Description

    THE all-time classic picture book, from generation to generation, sold somewhere in the world every 30 seconds! Have you shared it with a child or grandchild in your life?

    "The very hungry caterpillar literally eats his way through the pages of the book—and right into your child's heart..."
    Mother's Manual

    "Gorgeously illustrated, brilliantly innovative..."
    The New York Times Book Review

    Amazon.com Review

    "In the light of the moon a little egg lay on a leaf." So begins Eric Carle's modern classic, The Very Hungry Caterpillar. More than 12 million copies of this book have been sold in its original, full-sized edition, and the beloved tale of science and gluttony has been translated into 20 languages. This five-by-four-inch miniature edition is truly tiny, with tiny type, but it is a nice size for small hands to hold and flip through the pictures. Despite its diminished state, the book is complete in every detail, following the ravenous caterpillar's path as he eats his way through one apple (and the pages of the book itself) on Monday, two pears on Tuesday, three plums on Wednesday, and so on, through cherry pie and sausage--until he is really fat and has a stomachache. And no doubt you know what happens next! Kids love butterfly metamorphosis stories, and this popular favorite teaches counting and the days of the week, too. A fun gift package for caterpillar fans. (Baby to preschool) --Karin Snelson

    Eric Carle and Tomie dePaola: Author One-on-One

    Eric Carle is the creator, author, and illustrator of The Very Hungry Caterpillar and many other children’s books. Tomie dePaola is the author and illustrator of Strega Nona: Her Story and countless other books. They recently had a conversation about their careers as picture book authors. Eric Carle

    Tomie dePaola: When I was only four years old, I announced to my family in particular and to the world in general that I was going to become an artist, and write stories and draw pictures for books. I never swayed from that early declaration. I’ve always been curious to know, what inspired you to become a creator and illustrator of picture books?

    Eric Carle: My career began as a graphic designer and for a number of years I worked as an art director for an advertising agency in New York. In the mid 1960's Bill Martin, Jr. saw an ad of a red lobster that I had designed and asked me to illustrate his Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See? Well, I was set on fire! I was so inspired by this book, and the opportunity to illustrate it changed my life. After that, I started to create my own books, both words and pictures, and really it was then that I had found my true course in life.

    Now, I have a question for you, Tomie. How would you describe your artistic style, and has it changed over time?

    Tomie dePaola: My illustration style is heavily influenced by folk art--strong simple shapes, bold lines, color, color, color and a deceptive simplicity. My style began to develop early in art school, and through the years, it hasn’t changed very much, but it has refined itself. How would you describe yours?

    Eric Carle: My aim with my work is to simplify and refine, be logical and harmonious. I like to use simple shapes, bright colors and a lot of white space. I write for the child inside of me. That is always where I begin.

    Tomie dePaola Tomie dePaola: I do, as well. The only audience I keep in mind is that four-year-old in me. People sometimes ask me what advice I would give to young artists. I always think of the wonderful advice I received from my twin cousins when they were in art school in the late '30s. They told me, “Practice, practice, practice and don’t copy.”

    Eric Carle: I often tell people about the four magic letters: DO IT. I want to be encouraging but I can only offer the example of my own experience, which is just one approach. There are many wonderful artists to learn about, which is important. But you must use your own imagination. You have to just do it.

    Tomie dePaola: How do you feel knowing that a copy of The Very Hungry Caterpillar is sold every 30 seconds, somewhere in the world?

    Eric Carle: It is hard for me, maybe for others too, to grasp this concept. But I am truly honored that my story is enjoyed by so many and that it is now being shared by a generation of parents who grew up with my book. How about your Strega Nona. She is one of your most popular characters. Can you share how she came to be?

    Tomie dePaola: In the ‘70s when I was teaching at a college, we were required to attend faculty meetings. I always sat in the back with a yellow legal pad. Everyone thought I was taking notes. At one meeting a doodle appeared of a little lady with a big nose and a big chin. I named her Strega Nona, and the rest is history. Speaking of history, how will you be celebrating the third annual Very Hungry Caterpillar Day this year?

    Eric Carle: On The Very Hungry Caterpillar Day, March 20th, I will probably be at home with my wife, Bobbie (I am a bit of a hermit, actually). But I will be saying a little toast to the caterpillar for whom I have a special place in my heart. And speaking of holidays, isn’t your favorite holiday Christmas. Do you have a special Christmas memory?

    Tomie dePaola: Christmas is my favorite holiday. My favorite Christmas was the one when I received tons and tons of art supplies: everything from an easel to paints, pads and pads of paper, and “how to draw” books.
    A Look Inside The Very Hungry Caterpillar (Board Book)
    (Click on Images to Enlarge)

    ... Read more

    Features:

    • Classroom Favorites

    Similar Items:
    1. Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?
    2. Goodnight Moon
    3. Chicka Chicka Boom Boom (Board Book)
    4. Guess How Much I Love You
    5. The Very Busy Spider
    6. Are You My Mother? (Bright & Early Board Books(TM))
    7. Giraffes Can't Dance
    8. The Giving Tree
    9. Corduroy
    10. From Head to Toe Board Book .


    1-10 of 3198708 Results       Next

    Questions on ordering or shipping? click here for help.

    Copyright © 1998-2007 geometry.net

    contact: info@n2000.com