e99 Store Help
Store Home  Browse:   Books ... Science


Image Size:   Small  Medium  
  • Agricultural Sciences
  • Astronomy
  • Archaeology
  • Behavioral Sciences
  • Biological Sciences
  • Chemistry
  • Earth Sciences
  • Education
  • Essays & Commentary
  • Evolution
  • Experiments, Instruments & Measurement
  • General
  • History & Philosophy
  • Mathematics
  • Nature & Ecology
  • Medicine
  • Physics
  • Reference
  • Technology
  • 1-10 of 1796102 Results       Next
    $11.35 (40% off)
    Astrophysics for People
    $21.00 (40% off)
    Sapiens
    $10.29 (39% off)
    Outliers
    $8.95 (44% off)
    Thinking, Fast and Slow
    $9.88 (38% off)
    The Immortal Life of
    $83.11 (33% off)
    MyMathLab
    $28.07 (44% off)
    The Food Lab
    $20.42 (42% off)
    Homo Deus
    $9.40 (53% off)
    The Better Angels of
    $22.96 (18% off)
    If I Understood You,


    1. Astrophysics for People in a Hurry
    by Neil deGrasse Tyson
    List Price:
    Price:
    You Save:
    US$18.95
    US$11.35
    US$7.6 (40%)
    Category: Hardcover (2017-05-02)
    Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
    ISBN: 0393609391
    Sales Rank: 6
    Lowest New Price: $7.23
    Lowest Used Price: $4.01 (12 Used Items)
    Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

    Product Description

    The #1 New York Times Bestseller: The essential universe, from our most celebrated and beloved astrophysicist.

    What is the nature of space and time? How do we fit within the universe? How does the universe fit within us? There’s no better guide through these mind-expanding questions than acclaimed astrophysicist and best-selling author Neil deGrasse Tyson.

    But today, few of us have time to contemplate the cosmos. So Tyson brings the universe down to Earth succinctly and clearly, with sparkling wit, in tasty chapters consumable anytime and anywhere in your busy day.

    While you wait for your morning coffee to brew, for the bus, the train, or a plane to arrive, Astrophysics for People in a Hurry will reveal just what you need to be fluent and ready for the next cosmic headlines: from the Big Bang to black holes, from quarks to quantum mechanics, and from the search for planets to the search for life in the universe.

    ... Read more

    Similar Items:
    1. Death by Black Hole: And Other Cosmic Quandaries
    2. Al Franken, Giant of the Senate
    3. Death by Black Hole: And Other Cosmic Quandaries
    4. Welcome to the Universe: An Astrophysical Tour
    5. StarTalk: Everything You Ever Need to Know About Space Travel, Sci-Fi, the Human Race, the Universe, and Beyond
    6. Everything All at Once: How to Unleash Your Inner Nerd, Tap into Radical Curiosity and Solve Any Problem
    7. Theft by Finding: Diaries (1977-2002)
    8. Origins: Fourteen Billion Years of Cosmic Evolution
    9. Black Edge: Inside Information, Dirty Money, and the Quest to Bring Down the Most Wanted Man on Wall Street
    10. Cosmos .


    2. Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind
    by Yuval Noah Harari
    List Price:
    Price:
    You Save:
    US$35.00Harperillustrations14641579132476141illustrationsBookABIS_BOOK2015-02-10Harper2015-02-10HarperSapiens: A Brief History of Humankind186USD$1.86
    US$21.00
    US$14 (40%)
    Category: Hardcover Brand: Harari, Yuval Noah
    (2015-02-10)
    Publisher: Harper
    ISBN: 0062316095
    Sales Rank: 97
    Lowest New Price: $9.99
    Lowest Used Price: $14.65 (39 Used Items)
    Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

    Product Description

    New York Times Bestseller

    A Summer Reading Pick for President Barack Obama, Bill Gates, and Mark Zuckerberg

    From a renowned historian comes a groundbreaking narrative of humanity’s creation and evolution—a #1 international bestseller—that explores the ways in which biology and history have defined us and enhanced our understanding of what it means to be “human.”

    One hundred thousand years ago, at least six different species of humans inhabited Earth. Yet today there is only one—homo sapiens. What happened to the others? And what may happen to us?

    Most books about the history of humanity pursue either a historical or a biological approach, but Dr. Yuval Noah Harari breaks the mold with this highly original book that begins about 70,000 years ago with the appearance of modern cognition. From examining the role evolving humans have played in the global ecosystem to charting the rise of empires, Sapiens integrates history and science to reconsider accepted narratives, connect past developments with contemporary concerns, and examine specific events within the context of larger ideas.

    Dr. Harari also compels us to look ahead, because over the last few decades humans have begun to bend laws of natural selection that have governed life for the past four billion years. We are acquiring the ability to design not only the world around us, but also ourselves. Where is this leading us, and what do we want to become?

    Featuring 27 photographs, 6 maps, and 25 illustrations/diagrams, this provocative and insightful work is sure to spark debate and is essential reading for aficionados of Jared Diamond, James Gleick, Matt Ridley, Robert Wright, and Sharon Moalem.

    Amazon.com Review

    An Amazon Best Book of the Month for February 2015: Yuval Noah Harari has some questions. Among the biggest: How did Homo sapiens (or Homo sapiens sapiens , if you’re feeling especially wise today) evolve from an unexceptional savannah-dwelling primate to become the dominant force on the planet, emerging as the lone survivor out of six distinct, competing hominid species? He also has some answers, and they’re not what you’d expect. Tackling evolutionary concepts from a historian’s perspective, Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind, describes human development through a framework of three not-necessarily-orthodox “Revolutions”: the Cognitive, the Agricultural, and the Scientific. His ideas are interesting and often amusing: Why have humans managed to build astonishingly large populations when other primate groups top out at 150 individuals? Because our talent for gossip allows us to build networks in societies too large for personal relationships between everyone, and our universally accepted “imagined realities”--such as money, religion, and Limited Liability Corporations—keep us in line. Who cultivated whom, humans or wheat?. Wheat. Though the concepts are unusual and sometimes heavy (as is the book, literally) Harari’s deft prose and wry, subversive humor make quick work of material prone to academic tedium. He’s written a book of popular nonfiction (it was a bestseller overseas, no doubt in part because his conclusions draw controversy) landing somewhere in the middle of a Venn diagram of genetics, sociology, and history. Throughout, Harari returns frequently to another question: Does all this progress make us happier, our lives easier? The answer might disappoint you. --Jon Foro

    ... Read more

    Features:

    • Harper

    Similar Items:
    1. Homo Deus: A Brief History of Tomorrow
    2. Thing Explainer: Complicated Stuff in Simple Words
    3. Summary: Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind
    4. The Vital Question: Energy, Evolution, and the Origins of Complex Life
    5. The Grid: The Fraying Wires Between Americans and Our Energy Future
    6. Sapiens. De animales a dioses / Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind (Spanish Edition)
    7. Astrophysics for People in a Hurry
    8. The Gene: An Intimate History
    9. Sustainable Materials - With Both Eyes Open (Without the Hot Air)
    10. Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis .


    3. Outliers: The Story of Success
    by Malcolm Gladwell
    List Price:
    Price:
    You Save:
    US$16.99
    US$10.29
    US$6.7 (39%)
    Category: Paperback Brand: Baker and Taylor
    (2011-06-07)
    Publisher: Back Bay Books
    ISBN: 0316017930
    Sales Rank: 68
    Lowest New Price: $6.50
    Lowest Used Price: $0.91 (364 Used Items)
    Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

    Product Description

    In this stunning new book, Malcolm Gladwell takes us on an intellectual journey through the world of "outliers"--the best and the brightest, the most famous and the most successful. He asks the question: what makes high-achievers different?

    His answer is that we pay too much attention to what successful people are like, and too little attention to where they are from: that is, their culture, their family, their generation, and the idiosyncratic experiences of their upbringing. Along the way he explains the secrets of software billionaires, what it takes to be a great soccer player, why Asians are good at math, and what made the Beatles the greatest rock band.

    Brilliant and entertaining, Outliers is a landmark work that will simultaneously delight and illuminate.

    Amazon.com Review

    Amazon Best of the Month, November 2008: Now that he's gotten us talking about the viral life of ideas and the power of gut reactions, Malcolm Gladwell poses a more provocative question in Outliers: why do some people succeed, living remarkably productive and impactful lives, while so many more never reach their potential? Challenging our cherished belief of the "self-made man," he makes the democratic assertion that superstars don't arise out of nowhere, propelled by genius and talent: "they are invariably the beneficiaries of hidden advantages and extraordinary opportunities and cultural legacies that allow them to learn and work hard and make sense of the world in ways others cannot." Examining the lives of outliers from Mozart to Bill Gates, he builds a convincing case for how successful people rise on a tide of advantages, "some deserved, some not, some earned, some just plain lucky."

    Outliers can be enjoyed for its bits of trivia, like why most pro hockey players were born in January, how many hours of practice it takes to master a skill, why the descendents of Jewish immigrant garment workers became the most powerful lawyers in New York, how a pilots' culture impacts their crash record, how a centuries-old culture of rice farming helps Asian kids master math. But there's more to it than that. Throughout all of these examples--and in more that delve into the social benefits of lighter skin color, and the reasons for school achievement gaps--Gladwell invites conversations about the complex ways privilege manifests in our culture. He leaves us pondering the gifts of our own history, and how the world could benefit if more of our kids were granted the opportunities to fulfill their remarkable potential. --Mari Malcolm

    ... Read more

    Features:

    • Back Bay Books

    Similar Items:
    1. The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference
    2. Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking
    3. Great Speeches of the 20th Century (Dover Thrift Editions)
    4. David and Goliath: Underdogs, Misfits, and the Art of Battling Giants
    5. Freakonomics: A Rogue Economist Explores the Hidden Side of Everything
    6. What the Dog Saw: And Other Adventures
    7. In a World Just Right
    8. Thank You For Arguing, Revised and Updated Edition: What Aristotle, Lincoln, And Homer Simpson Can Teach Us About the Art of Persuasion
    9. Outliers: by Malcolm Gladwell | Summary & Analysis
    10. Hunger of Memory : The Education of Richard Rodriguez .


    4. Thinking, Fast and Slow
    by Daniel Kahneman
    List Price:
    Price:
    You Save:
    US$16.00
    US$8.95
    US$7.05 (44%)
    Category: Paperback Brand: Daniel Kahneman
    (2013-04-02)
    Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
    ISBN: 0374533555
    Sales Rank: 84
    Lowest New Price: $2.06
    Lowest Used Price: $3.50 (198 Used Items)
    Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

    Product Description

    Major New York Times bestseller
    Winner of the National Academy of Sciences Best Book Award in 2012
    Selected by the New York Times Book Review as one of the ten best books of 2011
    A Globe and Mail Best Books of the Year 2011 Title
    One of The Economist's 2011 Books of the Year
    One of The Wall Street Journal's Best Nonfiction Books of the Year 2011
    2013 Presidential Medal of Freedom Recipient
    Kahneman's work with Amos Tversky is the subject of Michael Lewis's The Undoing Project: A Friendship That Changed Our Minds

    In the international bestseller, Thinking, Fast and Slow, Daniel Kahneman, the renowned psychologist and winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics, takes us on a groundbreaking tour of the mind and explains the two systems that drive the way we think. System 1 is fast, intuitive, and emotional; System 2 is slower, more deliberative, and more logical. The impact of overconfidence on corporate strategies, the difficulties of predicting what will make us happy in the future, the profound effect of cognitive biases on everything from playing the stock market to planning our next vacation―each of these can be understood only by knowing how the two systems shape our judgments and decisions.

    Engaging the reader in a lively conversation about how we think, Kahneman reveals where we can and cannot trust our intuitions and how we can tap into the benefits of slow thinking. He offers practical and enlightening insights into how choices are made in both our business and our personal lives―and how we can use different techniques to guard against the mental glitches that often get us into trouble. Winner of the National Academy of Sciences Best Book Award and the Los Angeles Times Book Prize and selected by The New York Times Book Review as one of the ten best books of 2011, Thinking, Fast and Slow is destined to be a classic.

    Amazon.com Review

    Amazon Best Books of the Month, November 2011: Drawing on decades of research in psychology that resulted in a Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences, Daniel Kahneman takes readers on an exploration of what influences thought example by example, sometimes with unlikely word pairs like "vomit and banana." System 1 and System 2, the fast and slow types of thinking, become characters that illustrate the psychology behind things we think we understand but really don't, such as intuition. Kahneman's transparent and careful treatment of his subject has the potential to change how we think, not just about thinking, but about how we live our lives. Thinking, Fast and Slow gives deep--and sometimes frightening--insight about what goes on inside our heads: the psychological basis for reactions, judgments, recognition, choices, conclusions, and much more.  --JoVon Sotak

    ... Read more

    Features:

    • Thinking Fast and Slow

    Similar Items:
    1. Nudge: Improving Decisions About Health, Wealth, and Happiness
    2. The Power of Habit: Why We Do What We Do in Life and Business
    3. Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion, Revised Edition
    4. The Undoing Project: A Friendship That Changed Our Minds
    5. Critical Thinking in Consumer Behavior: Cases and Experiential Exercises (2nd Edition)
    6. Predictably Irrational, Revised and Expanded Edition: The Hidden Forces That Shape Our Decisions
    7. How to Win Friends & Influence People
    8. Blink: The Power of Thinking Without Thinking
    9. Misbehaving: The Making of Behavioral Economics
    10. Sex at Dawn: How We Mate, Why We Stray, and What It Means for Modern Relationships .


    5. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks
    by Rebecca Skloot
    List Price:
    Price:
    You Save:
    US$16.00
    US$9.88
    US$6.12 (38%)
    Category: Paperback Brand: Skloot, Rebecca
    (2011-03-08)
    Publisher: Broadway Books
    ISBN: 1400052181
    Sales Rank: 127
    Lowest New Price: $5.89
    Lowest Used Price: $0.55 (474 Used Items)
    Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

    Product Description

    Now an HBO® Film starring Oprah Winfrey and Rose Byrne

    #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

    Her name was Henrietta Lacks, but scientists know her as HeLa. She was a poor black tobacco farmer whose cells—taken without her knowledge in 1951—became one of the most important tools in medicine, vital for developing the polio vaccine, cloning, gene mapping, and more. Henrietta's cells have been bought and sold by the billions, yet she remains virtually unknown, and her family can't afford health insurance. This phenomenal New York Times bestseller tells a riveting story of the collision between ethics, race, and medicine; of scientific discovery and faith healing; and of a daughter consumed with questions about the mother she never knew.

    Amazon.com Review

    Amazon Best Books of the Month, February 2010: From a single, abbreviated life grew a seemingly immortal line of cells that made some of the most crucial innovations in modern science possible. And from that same life, and those cells, Rebecca Skloot has fashioned in The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks a fascinating and moving story of medicine and family, of how life is sustained in laboratories and in memory. Henrietta Lacks was a mother of five in Baltimore, a poor African American migrant from the tobacco farms of Virginia, who died from a cruelly aggressive cancer at the age of 30 in 1951. A sample of her cancerous tissue, taken without her knowledge or consent, as was the custom then, turned out to provide one of the holy grails of mid-century biology: human cells that could survive--even thrive--in the lab. Known as HeLa cells, their stunning potency gave scientists a building block for countless breakthroughs, beginning with the cure for polio. Meanwhile, Henrietta's family continued to live in poverty and frequently poor health, and their discovery decades later of her unknowing contribution--and her cells' strange survival--left them full of pride, anger, and suspicion. For a decade, Skloot doggedly but compassionately gathered the threads of these stories, slowly gaining the trust of the family while helping them learn the truth about Henrietta, and with their aid she tells a rich and haunting story that asks the questions, Who owns our bodies? And who carries our memories? --Tom Nissley


    Amazon Exclusive: Jad Abumrad Reviews The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

    Jad Abumrad is host and creator of the public radio hit Radiolab, now in its seventh season and reaching over a million people monthly. Radiolab combines cutting-edge production with a philosophical approach to big ideas in science and beyond, and an inventive method of storytelling. Abumrad has won numerous awards, including a National Headliner Award in Radio and an American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Science Journalism Award. Read his exclusive Amazon guest review of The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks:

    Honestly, I can't imagine a better tale.

    A detective story that's at once mythically large and painfully intimate.

    Just the simple facts are hard to believe: that in 1951, a poor black woman named Henrietta Lacks dies of cervical cancer, but pieces of the tumor that killed her--taken without her knowledge or consent--live on, first in one lab, then in hundreds, then thousands, then in giant factories churning out polio vaccines, then aboard rocket ships launched into space. The cells from this one tumor would spawn a multi-billion dollar industry and become a foundation of modern science--leading to breakthroughs in gene mapping, cloning and fertility and helping to discover how viruses work and how cancer develops (among a million other things). All of which is to say: the science end of this story is enough to blow one's mind right out of one's face.

    But what's truly remarkable about Rebecca Skloot's book is that we also get the rest of the story, the part that could have easily remained hidden had she not spent ten years unearthing it: Who was Henrietta Lacks? How did she live? How she did die? Did her family know that she'd become, in some sense, immortal, and how did that affect them? These are crucial questions, because science should never forget the people who gave it life. And so, what unfolds is not only a reporting tour de force but also a very entertaining account of Henrietta, her ancestors, her cells and the scientists who grew them.

    The book ultimately channels its journey of discovery though Henrietta's youngest daughter, Deborah, who never knew her mother, and who dreamt of one day being a scientist.

    As Deborah Lacks and Skloot search for answers, we're bounced effortlessly from the tiny tobacco-farming Virginia hamlet of Henrietta's childhood to modern-day Baltimore, where Henrietta's family remains. Along the way, a series of unforgettable juxtapositions: cell culturing bumps into faith healings, cutting edge medicine collides with the dark truth that Henrietta's family can't afford the health insurance to care for diseases their mother's cells have helped to cure.

    Rebecca Skloot tells the story with great sensitivity, urgency and, in the end, damn fine writing. I highly recommend this book. --Jad Abumrad


    Look Inside The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

    Click on thumbnails for larger images

    Henrietta and David Lacks, circa 1945.
    Elsie Lacks, Henrietta’s older daughter, about five years before she was committed to Crownsville State Hospital, with a diagnosis of “idiocy.”
    Deborah Lacks at about age four.
    The home-house where Henrietta was raised, a four-room log cabin in Clover, Virginia, that once served as slave quarters. (1999)
    Main Street in downtown Clover, Virginia, where Henrietta was raised, circa 1930s.


    Margaret Gey and Minnie, a lab technician, in the Gey lab at Hopkins, circa 1951.
    Deborah with her children, LaTonya and Alfred, and her second husband, James Pullum, in the mid-1980s.
    In 2001, Deborah developed a severe case of hives after learning upsetting new information about her mother and sister.
    Deborah and her cousin Gary Lacks standing in front of drying tobacco, 2001.
    The Lacks family in 2009.


    ... Read more

    Features:

    • Medical Research

    Similar Items:
    1. In Our Time
    2. The Writing Life
    3. Summary and Analysis of The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks: Based on the Book by Rebecca Skloot (Smart Summaries)
    4. Rhetorical Devices: A Handbook and Activities for Student Writers
    5. Contemporary Human Behavior Theory: A Critical Perspective for Social Work (3rd Edition)
    6. Into Thin Air: A Personal Account of the Mt. Everest Disaster
    7. Hidden Figures: The American Dream and the Untold Story of the Black Women Mathematicians Who Helped Win the Space Race
    8. Frankenstein
    9. In Cold Blood
    10. Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass .


    6. MyMathLab: Student Access Kit
    by Hall H Pearson Education
    List Price:
    Price:
    You Save:
    US$123.20
    US$83.11
    US$40.09 (33%)
    Category: Printed Access Code Brand: Not Available
    (2003-07-18)
    Publisher: Pearson
    ISBN: 032119991X
    Sales Rank: 653
    Lowest New Price: $79.95
    Lowest Used Price: $85.00 (16 Used Items)
    Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

    Product Description

    This access kit will provide you with a code to get into MyMathLab, a personalized interactive learning environment, where you can learn mathematics and statistics at your own pace and measure your progress. In order to use MyMathLab, you will need a CourseID provided by your instructor; MyMathLab is not a self-study product and does require you to be in an instructor-led course. This product is for the national MyMathLab access kit. If your school has a custom MyMathLab course the printed access card will not work.   MyMathLab includes:

     

    Interactive tutorial exercises: MyMathLab's homework and practice exercises are correlated to the exercises in the relevant textbook, and they regenerate algorithmically to give you unlimited opportunity for practice and mastery. Most exercises are free-response and provide an intuitive math symbol palette for entering math notation. Exercises include guided solutions, sample problems, and learning aids for extra help at point-of-use, and they offer helpful feedback when students enter incorrect answers.

     

    eBook with multimedia learning aids: MyMathLab courses include a full eBook with a variety of multimedia resources available directly from selected examples and exercises on the page. You can link out to learning aids such as video clips and animations to improve their understanding of key concepts.

     

    Study plan for self-paced learning: MyMathLab's study plan helps you monitor your own progress, letting you see at a glance exactly which topics you need to practice. MyMathLab generates a personalized study plan for you based on your test results, and the study plan links directly to interactive, tutorial exercises for topics you haven't yet mastered. You can regenerate these exercises with new values for unlimited practice, and the exercises include guided solutions and multimedia learning aids to give students the extra help they need.

     

    NOTE:  Access codes can only be used one time. If you purchased a used book that claimed that it included an access code, your code may already have been used and it will not work again. In this case, you must purchase a new access code. 

     

     For Customer Technical Support go to http://247pearsoned.custhelp.com

     

    Phone Support  800-677-6337

     

    Please note the packaging on this product has changed, whether you receive the current cover or earlier cover the product is still the same. 

     

    ... Read more

    Features:

    • MyMathLab Access Code

    Similar Items:
    1. Thinking Mathematically (6th Edition)
    2. Algebra and Trigonometry (10th Edition)
    3. Calculus: Early Transcendentals (2nd Edition)
    4. A Survey of Mathematics with Applications (10th Edition) - Standalone book
    5. Precalculus (5th Edition)
    6. Elementary & Intermediate Algebra: Functions and Authentic Applications (2nd Edition)
    7. Algebra and Trigonometry (5th Edition)
    8. College Algebra (10th Edition)
    9. College Algebra (12th Edition)
    10. Finite Mathematics for Business, Economics, Life Sciences and Social Sciences Plus NEW MyMathLab with Pearson eText -- Access Card Package (13th Edition) .


    7. The Food Lab: Better Home Cooking Through Science
    by J. Kenji López-Alt
    List Price:
    Price:
    You Save:
    US$49.95W. W. Norton & CompanyOver 1000 color photographs196018910796138821Over 1000 color photographsBookABIS_BOOK2015-09-21W. W. Norton & Company2015-09-21W. W. Norton & CompanyThe Food Lab: Better Home Cooking Through Science353USD$3.53
    US$28.07
    US$21.88 (44%)
    Category: Hardcover Brand: W W NORTON CO
    (2015-09-21)
    Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
    ISBN: 0393081087
    Sales Rank: 346
    Lowest New Price: $23.95
    Lowest Used Price: $23.58 (37 Used Items)
    Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

    Product Description

    The New York Times bestselling winner of the 2016 James Beard Award for General Cooking and the IACP Cookbook of the Year Award.

    A grand tour of the science of cooking explored through popular American dishes, illustrated in full color.

    Ever wondered how to pan-fry a steak with a charred crust and an interior that's perfectly medium-rare from edge to edge when you cut into it? How to make homemade mac 'n' cheese that is as satisfyingly gooey and velvety-smooth as the blue box stuff, but far tastier? How to roast a succulent, moist turkey (forget about brining!)―and use a foolproof method that works every time?

    As Serious Eats's culinary nerd-in-residence, J. Kenji López-Alt has pondered all these questions and more. In The Food Lab, Kenji focuses on the science behind beloved American dishes, delving into the interactions between heat, energy, and molecules that create great food. Kenji shows that often, conventional methods don’t work that well, and home cooks can achieve far better results using new―but simple―techniques. In hundreds of easy-to-make recipes with over 1,000 full-color images, you will find out how to make foolproof Hollandaise sauce in just two minutes, how to transform one simple tomato sauce into a half dozen dishes, how to make the crispiest, creamiest potato casserole ever conceived, and much more.

    Over 1000 color photographs

    ... Read more

    Features:

    • W W NORTON CO

    Similar Items:
    1. The Flavor Bible: The Essential Guide to Culinary Creativity, Based on the Wisdom of America's Most Imaginative Chefs
    2. The Science of Good Cooking: Master 50 Simple Concepts to Enjoy a Lifetime of Success in the Kitchen (Cook's Illustrated Cookbooks)
    3. Eating on the Wild Side: The Missing Link to Optimum Health
    4. Eating on the Wild Side: The Missing Link to Optimum Health
    5. The Professional Chef
    6. Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat: Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking
    7. On Food and Cooking: The Science and Lore of the Kitchen
    8. Sous Vide at Home: The Modern Technique for Perfectly Cooked Meals
    9. How to Cook Everything: 2,000 Simple Recipes for Great Food,10th Anniversary Edition
    10. Essentials of Classic Italian Cooking .


    8. Homo Deus: A Brief History of Tomorrow
    by Yuval Noah Harari
    List Price:
    Price:
    You Save:
    US$35.00
    US$20.42
    US$14.58 (42%)
    Category: Hardcover Brand: Harper
    (2017-02-21)
    Publisher: Harper
    ISBN: 0062464310
    Sales Rank: 285
    Lowest New Price: $15.50
    Lowest Used Price: $15.71 (21 Used Items)
    Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

    Product Description

    NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

    Yuval Noah Harari, author of the critically-acclaimed New York Times bestseller and international phenomenon Sapiens, returns with an equally original, compelling, and provocative book, turning his focus toward humanity’s future, and our quest to upgrade humans into gods.

    Over the past century humankind has managed to do the impossible and rein in famine, plague, and war. This may seem hard to accept, but, as Harari explains in his trademark style—thorough, yet riveting—famine, plague and war have been transformed from incomprehensible and uncontrollable forces of nature into manageable challenges. For the first time ever, more people die from eating too much than from eating too little; more people die from old age than from infectious diseases; and more people commit suicide than are killed by soldiers, terrorists and criminals put together. The average American is a thousand times more likely to die from binging at McDonalds than from being blown up by Al Qaeda.

    What then will replace famine, plague, and war at the top of the human agenda? As the self-made gods of planet earth, what destinies will we set ourselves, and which quests will we undertake? Homo Deus explores the projects, dreams and nightmares that will shape the twenty-first century—from overcoming death to creating artificial life. It asks the fundamental questions: Where do we go from here? And how will we protect this fragile world from our own destructive powers? This is the next stage of evolution. This is Homo Deus.

    With the same insight and clarity that made Sapiens an international hit and a New York Times bestseller, Harari maps out our future.

    Amazon.com Review

    An Amazon Best Book of February 2017: Those who read and loved Yuval Noah Harari’s Sapiens have been eagerly anticipating his new book Homo Deus. While Sapiens looked back at our evolutionary development, this new book examines where we might be headed (Homo Deus is subtitled “A Brief History of Tomorrow”). Predicting the future isn’t as easy as deconstructing the past, and Harari openly admits the challenge—but even if he’s completely wrong in his predictions, and most of us doubt he is, Homo Deus is the kind of provocative, food-for-thought read that drew so many of us to his work in the first place. According to Harari, our future could be very different from our present—dark, technocratic, and automated—but reading about our possible fates, presented in Harari’s clear-eyed and illuminating style, sure is fascinating. --Chris Schluep, The Amazon Book Review

    ... Read more

    Features:

    • Harper

    Similar Items:
    1. Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind
    2. The Heart: A Novel
    3. The Heart: A Novel
    4. A Full Life: Reflections at Ninety
    5. Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis
    6. Summary: Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind
    7. The Vital Question: Energy, Evolution, and the Origins of Complex Life
    8. Born a Crime: Stories from a South African Childhood
    9. The Grid: The Fraying Wires Between Americans and Our Energy Future
    10. A Full Life: Reflections at Ninety .


    9. The Better Angels of Our Nature: Why Violence Has Declined
    by Steven Pinker
    List Price:
    Price:
    You Save:
    US$20.00
    US$9.40
    US$10.6 (53%)
    Category: Paperback Brand: Steven Pinker
    (2012-09-25)
    Publisher: Penguin Books
    ISBN: 0143122010
    Sales Rank: 278
    Lowest New Price: $9.40
    Lowest Used Price: $9.25 (31 Used Items)
    Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

    Product Description

    “If I could give each of you a graduation present, it would be this—the most inspiring book I've ever read."
    Bill Gates (May, 2017)

    A provocative history of violence—from the New York Times bestselling author of The Stuff of Thought and The Blank Slate

    Believe it or not, today we may be living in the most peaceful moment in our species' existence. In his gripping and controversial new work, New York Times bestselling author Steven Pinker shows that despite the ceaseless news about war, crime, and terrorism, violence has actually been in decline over long stretches of history. Exploding myths about humankind's inherent violence and the curse of modernity, this ambitious book continues Pinker's exploration of the essence of human nature, mixing psychology and history to provide a remarkable picture of an increasingly enlightened world.

    ... Read more

    Features:

    • The Better Angels of Our Nature Why Violence Has Declined

    Similar Items:
    1. Business Adventures: Twelve Classic Tales from the World of Wall Street
    2. The Heart: A Novel
    3. The Blank Slate: The Modern Denial of Human Nature
    4. "What Do You Care What Other People Think?": Further Adventures of a Curious Character
    5. How the Mind Works
    6. Surely You're Joking, Mr. Feynman! (Adventures of a Curious Character)
    7. Summary: Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind
    8. Homo Deus: A Brief History of Tomorrow
    9. Seveneves
    10. Tap Dancing to Work: Warren Buffett on Practically Everything, 1966-2013 .


    10. If I Understood You, Would I Have This Look on My Face?: My Adventures in the Art and Science of Relating and Communicating
    by Alan Alda
    List Price:
    Price:
    You Save:
    US$28.00
    US$22.96
    US$5.04 (18%)
    Category: Hardcover Brand: Steven Pinker
    (2017-06-06)
    Publisher: Random House
    ISBN: 0812989147
    Sales Rank: 727
    Lowest New Price: $17.15
    Lowest Used Price: $20.07 (4 Used Items)
    Canada | United Kingdom | Germany | France | Japan

    Product Description

    NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Award-winning actor Alan Alda tells the fascinating story of his quest to learn how to communicate better, and to teach others to do the same. With his trademark humor and candor, he explores how to develop empathy as the key factor.

    Alan Alda has been on a decades-long journey to discover new ways to help people communicate and relate to one another more effectively. If I Understood You, Would I Have This Look on My Face? is the warm, witty, and informative chronicle of how Alda found inspiration in everything from cutting-edge science to classic acting methods. His search began when he was host of PBS’s Scientific American Frontiers, where he interviewed thousands of scientists and developed a knack for helping them communicate complex ideas in ways a wide audience could understand—and Alda wondered if those techniques held a clue to better communication for the rest of us.

    In his wry and wise voice, Alda reflects on moments of miscommunication in his own life, when an absence of understanding resulted in problems both big and small. He guides us through his discoveries, showing how communication can be improved through learning to relate to the other person: listening with our eyes, looking for clues in another’s face, using the power of a compelling story, avoiding jargon, and reading another person so well that you become “in sync” with them, and know what they are thinking and feeling—especially when you’re talking about the hard stuff.

    Drawing on improvisation training, theater, and storytelling techniques from a life of acting, and with insights from recent scientific studies, Alda describes ways we can build empathy, nurture our innate mind-reading abilities, and improve the way we relate and talk with others. Exploring empathy-boosting games and exercises, If I Understood You is a funny, thought-provoking guide that can be used by all of us, in every aspect of our lives—with our friends, lovers, and families, with our doctors, in business settings, and beyond.

    “Alda uses his trademark humor and a well-honed ability to get to the point, to help us all learn how to leverage the better communicator inside each of us.”—Forbes

    “Communicating is at the heart of connectedness. Alda, with his laudable curiosity, has learned something you and I can use right now.”—Charlie Rose

    “Sit back and enjoy Alan Alda’s scientific journey of communication.”—Barbara Walters

    ... Read more

    Similar Items:
    1. Things I Overheard While Talking to Myself
    2. Never Have Your Dog Stuffed: And Other Things I've Learned
    3. Do I Make Myself Clear?: Why Writing Well Matters
    4. Al Franken, Giant of the Senate
    5. Things I Overheard While Talking to Myself
    6. Improvisation for the Theater: A Handbook of Teaching and Directing Techniques (Drama and Performance Studies)
    7. Never Have Your Dog Stuffed: And Other Things I've Learned
    8. Radiance: The Passion of Marie Curie
    9. Storytelling in the Digital Age: A Guide for Nonprofits
    10. Astrophysics for People in a Hurry .


    1-10 of 1796102 Results       Next

    Questions on ordering or shipping? click here for help.

    Copyright © 1998-2007 geometry.net

    contact: info@n2000.com